/ Designers / Charles Le Corbusier
head

Charles Le Corbusier

Birthdate
1887
Nationality
Swiss
Occupation
Architect

Born in 1887 in Switzerland, Charles-Edouard Jeanneret, better known as "Le Corbusier" is a complete artist! Architect, urban planner, painter, sculptor, designer... He is recognized throughout the world as the main actor of the modern architectural movement.

During his 60 years of career and through his many works, he blends heritage and modernity. A combination that can be found today in his creations scattered over 4 continents, in 12 different countries and classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Avant-garde, Le Corbusier brings new solutions to the world of architecture. Indeed, it favours the passage of light, modernizes techniques by developing architecture at a height and meets the social and human needs of modern man. It is on this last step that he collaborates with the famous French architect and designer Charlotte Perriand.

Among his emblematic works are La Cité Radieuse (Marseille, France, 1945-1952), Le Musée National d'Art Occidental (Tokyo, Japan, 1957) and Le Palais de l'assemblée (Chandigarh, India, 1955).
Moreover, it is during these numerous architectural achievements that Charles-Edouard Jeanneret created unique lighting fixtures! The Marseille lamp, the Projecteur collection, the Parliament floor lamp or the Borne Béton are all specific creations for each building built. All these lightings are now published by the Italian company Nemo Lighting for the general public! A real opportunity for architecture fans...

mini-2 mini-1
“Architecture is a turn of mind and not a profession.”
Nedgis uses cookies to offer you the best service. By continuing browsing, you agree that we use them.

/ Les designers / Charles Le Corbusier
head

Charles Le Corbusier

Naissance
1887
Nationalité
Suisse
Profession
Architecte

Né en 1887 en Suisse, Charles-Edouard Jeanneret, plus connu sous le nom « Le Corbusier » est un artiste complet ! Architecte, urbaniste, peintre, sculpteur, designer… Il est reconnu dans le monde entier comme étant l’acteur principal du mouvement moderne en architecture.

Durant ses 60 années de carrière et à travers ses nombreux travaux, il mélange héritage et modernité. Une combinaison que l’on retrouve aujourd’hui dans ses créations dispersées sur 4 continents, dans 12 pays différents et classées au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.
Avant-gardiste, Le Corbusier apporte des solutions nouvelles au monde de l’architecture. En effet, il privilégie le passage de la lumière, modernise les techniques en développant l’architecture en hauteur et répond aux besoins sociaux et humains de l’homme moderne. C’est sur cette dernière avancée qu’il collabore notamment avec la célèbre architecte et designer française Charlotte Perriand.

Parmi ses œuvres emblématiques, on retrouve La Cité Radieuse (Marseille, France, 1945-1952), Le Musée National d’Art Occidental (Tokyo, Japon, 1957) ou encore Le Palais de l’assemblée (Chandigarh, Inde, 1955).
Par ailleurs, c’est au cours de ces nombreuses réalisations architecturales que Charles-Edouard Jeanneret créé des luminaires uniques ! La lampe de Marseille, la collection Projecteur, le lampadaire Parliament ou encore la Borne Béton sont toutes des créations spécifiques pour chaque bâtiment construit. L’ensemble de ces luminaires sont aujourd’hui édités par la maison italienne Nemo Lighting pour le grand publique ! Une vraie opportunité pour les fans d’architecture…

mini-2 mini-1
« L'architecture, c'est une tournure d'esprit et non un métier. »
Nedgis utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l’utilisation.