/ Designers / Charlotte Perriand
head

Charlotte Perriand

Birthdate
1903
Nationality
French
Occupation
Architect and designer

Charlotte Perriand is a French architect and designer. Born in 1903, she studied decorative arts in Paris from 1920 to 1925. It was during her study’s years that she became particularly interested in lighting. A passion that has never ceased. When she was 20, she received the medal of the lighting competition from the “Société d'encouragement à l'art et l'industrie”. She makes herself known with her "Bar sous le toit" at the age of 24.

She has collaborated with the greatest names in the modern movement, including Charles-Édouard Jeanneret-Gris, better known as "Le Corbusier". Together, they worked on the issue of social housing, a very important and difficult problem in the inter-war period.

Charlotte Perriand left for Japan between 1940 and 1942. It was during this period that her style was strongly influenced by the culture of the country. Due to a lack of metal, she then created a bamboo luminaire.
From 1967 and 1986, she participated in the architectural design and interior design of “Les Arcs” station in Savoie (France).

She died at the age of 96 in Paris.

Avant-garde, she could not at the time reach the general public as she wished. This is why today Nemo Lighting is striving to republish her creations as well as the wall lights of the Potence Pivotante collection. Functional and minimalist, Charlotte Perriand's lighting are timeless architectural luminaires!

mini-2 mini-1
“The important thing is not the object, but the Man.”
Nedgis uses cookies to offer you the best service. By continuing browsing, you agree that we use them.

/ Les designers / Charlotte Perriand
head

Charlotte Perriand

Naissance
1903
Nationalité
Française
Profession
Architecte et designer

Charlotte Perriand est une architecte et designer française. Née en 1903, elle étudie les Arts décoratifs à Paris de 1920 à 1925. C’est au cours de ses années d’études qu’elle s’intéresse tout particulièrement aux dispositifs de lumière. Une passion qui n’a jamais cessé. A 20 ans, elle reçoit la médaille du concours du luminaire par la Société d’encouragement à l’art et l’industrie. Elle se fait véritablement connaître avec son « Bar sous le toit » à l'âge de 24 ans.

Elle a collaboré avec les plus grands noms du mouvement moderne notamment Charles-Édouard Jeanneret-Gris, plus connu sous le nom de « Le Corbusier ». Ensemble, ils ont travaillé sur la question du logement social, un problème très important et des plus difficiles dans cette période d’entre-deux-guerres.

Charlotte Perriand part pour le Japon entre 1940 et 1942. C’est au cours de cette période que son style est fortement influencé par la culture du pays. Faute de métal, elle créée alors un luminaire en bambou.
De 1967 et 1986, elle participe à la conception architecturale et aux aménagements d’intérieurs de la station des Arcs en Savoie.

Elle meurt à l’âge de 96 ans à Paris.

Avant-gardiste, elle ne pouvait à l’époque toucher le grand public comme elle le souhaitait. C’est pourquoi aujourd’hui la maison Nemo Lighting s’évertue à rééditer ses œuvres comme les appliques de la collection Potence Pivotante. Fonctionnels et minimalistes, les luminaires de Charlotte Perriand sont des luminaires d’architecte intemporels !

mini-2 mini-1
« L'important ce n'est pas l'objet, mais l'Homme. »
Nedgis utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l’utilisation.