1. Home
  2. / Designers
  3. / Matteo Thun
head

Matteo Thun

Birthdate
1952
Nationality
Italian
Occupation
Architect and designer

Matteo Thun was born in Italy, in Bolzano, in 1952. He studied at the Salzburg Academy and graduated in architecture in Florence in 1975. In 1981, he co-founded the Memphis group. Matteo Thun is an integral part of the design movement that influenced the 1980s with its innovative and original forms. In 1981, the Vienna Academy of Applied Arts appointed him President of the Product Design and Ceramics Department. He left the Memphis group and founded the Matteo Thun Studio in Milan in 1984. A few years later, in 1990, he became Swatch Creative Director until 1993.

The Italian designer offers sustainable solutions in his works with a holistic approach. According to him, architecture means designing the soul of the place, i.e. aesthetic, economic and technological sustainability. Through the design of the product, it attempts to reflect the soul of the brand.

Matteo Thun has won many international awards. We can mention the Compasso d'Oro ADI award for design excellence three times or the Wallpaper Design Award 2010. He also excels in architecture and interior design. Its Hotel Side in Hamburg was voted Hotel of the Year in 2001, the Vigilius mountain refuge won the Wallpaper Design Award in 2004 and the Radisson SAS Frankfurt was chosen as the best hotel at the "Hospitality Worldwide Awards" in 2005.

mini-2 mini-1
"Architecture means designing the soul of the place. »

/ Les designers / Matteo Thun
head

Matteo Thun

Naissance
1952
Nationalité
Italien
Profession
Architecte et designer

Matteo Thun est né en Italie, à Bolzano, en 1952. Il étudie à l'Académie de Salzbourg et obtient son diplôme en architecture à Florence en 1975. En 1981, il co-fonde le groupe Memphis. Matteo Thun fait partie intégrante du mouvement de design qui a influencé les années 1980 avec ses formes innovantes originales. En 1981, l'Académie des Arts Appliqués de Vienne le nomme Président du département design produit et de la céramique. Il quitte le groupe Memphis et fonde le Studio Matteo Thun à Milan en 1984. Quelques années plus tard, en 1990, il devient directeur de la création Swatch jusqu’en 1993.

Le designer italien propose dans ses œuvres des solutions durables avec une approche holistique. Selon lui, l'architecture signifie concevoir l'âme du lieu, c’est-à-dire une durabilité esthétique, économique et technologique. A travers la conception du produit, il tente de refléter l’âme de la marque.

Matteo Thun a remporté de nombreux prix internationaux. On peut citer le prix Compasso d'Oro ADI pour l'excellence de son design à trois reprises ou le Wallpaper Design Award 2010. Il excelle également en architecture et design d’intérieur. Son Hôtel Side à Hambourg est élu hôtel de l'année 2001, le refuge de montagne Vigilius remporte le Wallpaper Design Award en 2004 et le Radisson SAS Francfort est choisi comme le meilleur hôtel aux « Hospitality Worldwide Awards » en 2005.

mini-2 mini-1
« L'architecture signifie concevoir l'âme du lieu. »
Nedgis utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l’utilisation.