/ Designers / Bernard Schottlander
head

Bernard Schottlander

Nationality
deutsch
Occupation
designer, sculptor

Bernard Schottlander is a designer born in 1924 in Mainz, Germany. He arrived in England in 1939 and during the war, he worked in structural engineering as a welder. He then took sculpture courses at Leeds College of Art, then on a scholarship from the Anglo-French Art Centre in St John's Wood; he studied sculpture for a year in London. His training as a welder will play a considerable role in his work.


Bernard Schottlander defines himself as an interior designer and an exterior sculptor. He built his workshop in London with the help of his assistant George Nash.

In 1963, he decided to focus solely on sculpture, and from 1965 he taught metalworking at St Martins School. That same year, he exhibited with the group Six Artists at the Institute of Contemporary Arts, London. In 1966, he made his first exhibition at the Hamilton Galleries in London.


Movement is the source of inspiration for all Schottlander's work: artist, engineer and do-it-yourselfer, he develops a clever pivot-counterweight system, and uses flexible and resistant metal rods. His lights, playing on the tension between balance and imbalance, drawing the secrets of emptiness and fullness, like mobiles, seem to defy the laws of weightlessness. The poetry of the object invites you to dream: elegance on a thread...

mini-2 mini-1
"The poetry of the object invites to dream: elegance on a thread..."
Nedgis uses cookies to offer you the best service. By continuing browsing, you agree that we use them.

/ Les designers / Bernard Schottlander
head

Bernard Schottlander

Nationalité
Allemande
Profession
designer, sculpteur

Bernard Schottlander est un designer né en 1924 à Mainz en Allemagne. Il arrive en Angleterre en 1939 et pendant la guerre, il travaille dans l’ingénierie structurale en tant que soudeur. Il prend alors des cours de sculpture au Leeds College of Art, puis grâce à une bourse du Anglo-French Art Centre à St John’s Wood ; il étudie la sculpture pendant un an, à Londres. Sa formation de soudeur jouera un rôle considérable dans son œuvre.


Bernard Schottlander se définit comme designer pour l’intérieur, et sculpteur pour l’extérieur. Il construit son atelier à Londres aidé de son assistant George Nash.

En 1963, il décide de se concentrer sur la sculpture uniquement, et à partir de 1965 il enseigne le travail du métal à St Martins School. Il expose cette même année avec le groupe Six Artists à l’Institute of Contemporary Arts, London. En 1966, il fait sa première exposition à l’Hamilton Galleries de Londres.


Le mouvement est la source d’inspiration de tout le travail de Schottlander : artiste, ingénieur- bricoleur, il met au point un système de pivot-contrepoids astucieux, et utilise des joncs de métal souples et résistants. Ses luminaires, jouant sur la tension entre l’équilibre et le déséquilibre, dessinant les secrets du vide et du plein, tels des mobiles, semblent défier les lois de l’apesanteur. La poésie de l’objet invite au rêve : l’élégance sur un fil...

mini-2 mini-1
"La poésie de l’objet invite au rêve : l’élégance sur un fil..."
Nedgis utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l’utilisation.