1. Home
  2. / Designers
  3. / Karen Gilbert Et Paul Pavlak
head

Karen Gilbert et Paul Pavlak

Nationality
American
Occupation
Designers

Karen Gilbert is an American craftsman, goldsmith and jeweler. As design director at Sklo, the designer brings her intuitive understanding of craftsmanship and manufacturing. In her work, Karen Gilbert works on the design and prototyping of Sklo's collections. Indeed, its process extends from drawing to painting, to metal fabrication.


The designer is very famous for her glass products. The latter was trained in metallurgy and glass work at California College of Art and Pilchuk Glass School. For all her creations, the designer can be inspired by the unique languages ​​and shapes of the natural and artificial worlds. Karen Gilbert is always looking for the unexpected.


Paul Pavlak is also an architect and an American designer. As a couple, the two designers work within Sklo Studio. While his wife is design director, Paul Pavlak is busy refining and editing the many ideas found in Sklo Studio's collections. Indeed, for all the products in the collection, Paul Pavlak provides technical documentation and attention to the different details.


For the designer, product design, lighting design, graphic design and web design are many extensions of the same idea. Paul Pavlak has a philosophy of his own: the design is based on the honesty of the materials, the expression of the process and the simplicity.


By combining their skills, the designer couple creates authentic, original products that appeal to the most important decoration brands. Contemporary, trendy and harmonious; the lamps designed by these two designers become true icons of design.
At SkLO, in collaboration with his wife and SkLO design director, Karen Gilbert, he is working to refine and edit the many ideas that go into SkLO collections, providing technical documentation and attention to detail. Paul also provides the vision for the graphic design and appearance of the SkLO brand.

mini-2 mini-1
"The design is based on the honesty of the materials, the expression of the process and the simplicity."

/ Les designers / Karen Gilbert Et Paul Pavlak
head

Karen Gilbert et Paul Pavlak

Nationalité
Américain
Profession
Designers

Karen Gilbert est une artiste artisanal américain, un orfèvre et un bijoutier. En tant que directrice du design chez Sklo, la designer apporte sa compréhension intuitive de l’artisanat et de la fabrication. Dans son travail, Karen Gilbert mèle la conception et le prototypage des collections de Sklo. En effet, son processus s’étend du dessin à la peinture, à la fabrication en métal.


La designer est très réputée pour ses produits en verre. En effet, cette dernière a été formée à la métallurgie et au travail du verre au California College of Art et à la Pilchuk Glass School. Pour l’ensemble de ses créations, la designer puisse son inspiration dans les langages et les formes uniques des mondes naturels et artificiels. Karen Gilbert recherche toujours l’inattendu.



Paul Pavlak est lui aussi un architecte et un designer américain. En couple, les deux designers travaillent au sein de Sklo Studio. Alors que sa femme est directrice de design, Paul Pavlak s’occupe de peaufiner et éditer les nombreuses idées qu’on retrouve dans les collections de Sklo Studio. En effet, pour tous les produits de la collection, Paul Pavlak fournit une documentation technique et une attention aux différents détails.


Pour le designer, la conception de produits, la conception de l’éclairage, le design graphique et le design Web sont de nombreuses extensions de la même idée. Paul Pavlak a une philosophie propre à lui : la conception se base sur l’honnêteté des matériaux, l’expression du processus et la simplicité.



En combinant leurs compétences, le couple de designer créé des produits authentiques, originaux et qui séduisent les plus grandes marques de décoration. Contemporains, tendances et harmonieux ; les luminaires imaginés par ces deux designers deviennent de véritables icônes du design.

mini-2 mini-1
"La conception se base sur l’honnêteté des matériaux, l’expression du processus et la simplicité."
Nedgis utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l’utilisation.