1. Home
  2. / Designers
  3. / Paavo Tynell
head

Paavo Tynell

Birthdate
1890
Nationality
Finnish
Occupation
Designer

Paavo Tynell (1890-1973) was a Finnish industrial designer specializing in lighting design. He was also co-founder of Oy Taito Ab, an art and lighting company, and had a successful career as a freelance designer for various international companies during the 1950s and 1960s. Paavo Tynell was married to the glass designer Helena Tynell (1918 - 2016).


Paavo Tynell began his career in Helsinki at the beginning of the 20th century as a tinsmith, but quickly developed into a good blacksmith specializing in metal finishes. While working for Koru OY, a Finnish metal art forging company, Tynell qualified as a master craftsman in 1913. At the same time, he was studying at Taideteollisuus Keskuskoulu (now the Helsinki University of Industrial Arts), where he eventually worked as a teacher. Kaj Franck and Gunnel Nyman, to name a few, later become his colleagues.


In 1918, Paavo Tynell set up his own company Oy Taito Ab with Gösta Serlachius, Emil Wickström, Eric Ehrström and Frans Nykänen. Initially, the company created a variety of metal objects, ranging from industrial lighting to more demanding works of art such as statues, railings and silverware. However, as one of the leading producers of lighting fixtures in Finland in the early 20th century, Taito Oy began to focus more on lamps during the 1930s, with Paavo Tynell as the chief designer and CEO.


In 1953, the majority of Oy Taito Ab was purchased by another Finnish lighting company, Idman Oy, a trading partner with whom they have cooperated over the years. idman has decided to reorganize the production and administration of the company, and to abandon the use of Taito as a brand. Despite the loss of the brand he was creating, all this led to a new career, even more international for Tynell. Since Idman wanted to focus more on mass-produced items, the following year he began designing as an independent designer for the American lighting company.


Tynell continued to draw regularly for Idman until the early 1960s, and the company continued to produce the most popular lamp ever designed by Tynell, a rectangular, square-shaped "starry sky" ceiling lamp until the late 1970s. different variants. Paavo Tynell lived permanently in Tuusula, Finland, where he finally died in 1973.

mini-2 mini-1

/ Les designers / Paavo Tynell
head

Paavo Tynell

Naissance
1890
Nationalité
Finlandaise
Profession
Designer

Paavo Tynell (1890-1973) était un designer industriel finlandais spécialisé dans le design d'éclairage. Il a également été co-fondateur de Oy Taito Ab, une entreprise d'art et d'éclairage, et a connu une brillante carrière en tant que designer freelance pour diverses sociétés internationales durant les années 1950 et 1960. Paavo Tynell était marié à la designer de verre Helena Tynell (1918 - 2016).


Paavo Tynell a commencé sa carrière à Helsinki au début du 20ème siècle comme un ferblantier, mais s'est développé rapidement dans un bon forgeron, spécialisé sur les finitions en métal. Alors qu'il travaillait pour Koru OY, une entreprise finlandaise de forge d'art en métal, Tynell se qualifia comme maître artisan en 1913. Parallèlement, il étudiait à Taideteollisuus Keskuskoulu (aujourd'hui l'université Helsinki des arts industriels), où il travailla finalement en tant qu'enseignant. Kaj Franck et Gunnel Nyman, pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns, deviennent plus tard ses collègues.


En 1918, Paavo Tynell crée sa propre société Oy Taito Ab avec Gösta Serlachius, Emil Wickström, Eric Ehrström et Frans Nykänen. Au début, l'entreprise a créé divers objets métalliques, allant de l'éclairage industriel à des travaux d'art plus exigeants comme les statues, les rampes et l'argenterie. Cependant, en tant que l'un des premiers producteurs d'appareils d'éclairage en Finlande au début du 20ème siècle, Taito Oy a commencé à se concentrer davantage sur les lampes pendant les années 1930, avec Paavo Tynell en tant que chef designer et PDG.


En 1953, la majorité d'Oy Taito Ab a été achetée par une autre société d'éclairage finlandaise, Idman Oy, un partenaire commercial avec lequel ils ont coopéré au fil des années. idman a décidé de réorganiser la production et l'administration de l'entreprise, et d'abandonner l'utilisation de Taito comme marque. En dépit de la perte de la marque qu'il était en train de créer, tout cela a conduit à une nouvelle carrière, encore plus internationale pour Tynell. Depuis qu'Idman a voulu se concentrer davantage sur les articles produits en série, l'année suivante il a commencé à concevoir en tant que designer indépendant pour la compagnie d'éclairage américaine.


Tynell continua de dessiner régulièrement pour Idman jusqu'au début des années 1960 et la société continua de produire la lampe la plus populaire jamais conçue par Tynell, plafonnier carré et rectangulaire en forme de «ciel étoilé» jusqu'à la fin des années 1970 dans différentes variantes. Paavo Tynell a vécu de façon permanente à Tuusula, en Finlande, où il est finalement décédé en 1973.

mini-2 mini-1
Nedgis utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l’utilisation.