/ Designers / Rick Tegelaar
head

Rick Tegelaar

Nationality
Netherlands
Occupation
Designer

Rick Tegelaar was born in Rotterdam in 1986. Very quickly oriented towards design, he integrated ArtEZ Arnhem into the product design department. Rick graduated with honours from the department in 2011. From 2011, he will work independently in his workshop in Arnhem.

Rick Tegelaar enjoys working with undervalued materials such as wire mesh and wood waste. This young designer examines these materials, looks at them from a different perspective, and gives them new functions. The challenge is to find new shapes, qualities and aesthetics as opposed to those we all know too well.

Look at the products and materials we are surrounded by in an impartial way, highlight new opportunities that underestimated materials can offer and challenge known processes. Rick often develops new machines, tools and techniques for each new project in order to recover new properties of a given material. Working with a material in different ways, using different methods, will automatically create a new aesthetic.
Aesthetics is often wrongly neglected in industrial processes. In his work, Rick tries to show how a new aesthetic can be achieved with industrial materials by making small changes in production methods.

Rick Tegelaar, asks himself different questions, invents and reinvents. The materials attract all the esteem of this designer who advocates impartiality in front of them.

mini-2 mini-1
"Working with a material in different ways, using different methods, will automatically create a new aesthetic."
Nedgis uses cookies to offer you the best service. By continuing browsing, you agree that we use them.

/ Les designers / Rick Tegelaar
head

Rick Tegelaar

Nationalité
Pays-Bas
Profession
Designer

Rick Tegelaar est né à Rotterdam en 1986. Très vite orienté vers le design, il intègre l’ ArtEZ Arnhem dans le département du design de produits. Rick en est diplômé avec mention du département en 2011. À partir de 2011, il travaille indépendamment dans son atelier à Arnhem.

Rick Tegelaar aime travailler avec des matériaux sous-évalués comme le treillis métallique et les déchets de bois. Ce jeune designer examine ces matériaux, les regarde d’un œil différent, et leur donne de nouvelles fonctions. Le défi consiste à trouver de nouvelles formes, qualités et esthétiques par opposition à celles que nous connaissons tous trop bien.

Regarder les produits et les matériaux dont nous sommes entourés d'une manière impartiale, mettre en avant de nouvelles possibilités que peuvent offrir les matériaux sous-estimés et remettre en question les procédés connus. Rick développe souvent de nouvelles machines, outils et techniques pour chaque nouveau projet afin de pouvoir récupérer de nouvelles propriétés d'un matériau donné. Travailler avec un matériau de différentes manières, en utilisant différentes méthodes, créera automatiquement une nouvelle esthétique.
L'esthétique est souvent négligée à tort dans les processus industriels. Dans son travail, Rick tente de montrer de quelle manière une nouvelle esthétique peut être obtenue avec les matériaux industriels en apportant de petits changements dans les méthodes de production.

Rick Tegelaar, se pose des questions différentes, invente et réinvente. Les matériaux attirent toute l’estime de ce designer qui prône l’impartialité face à eux.

mini-2 mini-1
"Travailler avec un matériau de différentes manières, en utilisant différentes méthodes, créera automatiquement une nouvelle esthétique."
Nedgis utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l’utilisation.