/ Designers / Xavier Manosa
head

Xavier Manosa

Birthdate
1981
Nationality
Spanish
Occupation
Ceramist

Xavier Mañosa founded Apparatu just five years ago and, in that short space of time, he has become one of the most up and coming ceramicists of his generation. When he took that step, he was living in Berlin. Perhaps that distance helped him to finally dedicate himself to what he had seen his parents doing during his childhood and which he had rejected as an act of defiance during his training as an industrial designer. In his case, the most fascinating part is probably that it is a combination of the two – his perspective from a distance and his eagerness to experiment linked to his knowledge of his trade, drawn from his home background.

Until 2009, Mañosa had his creative base in Berlin, and then returned to the family workshop, located in an old industrial estate in Barcelona, where ceramic products for the building industry used to be produced. Nowadays, it is actually a focal point for antiques, which gives it a most inspiring atmosphere.

What fundamentally distinguishes Mañosa as a modern-day ceramicist is his boldness when it comes to combining different materials and to exploring new forms of expression. Furthermore Xavier Mañosa has from the onset put great importance into the way his work is presented, which is obviously a reflection of his training as a designer and the fact that he belongs to the ‘digital generation’. On the one hand, his work stands out as a brand and, on the other, he raises its prominence through his Web site and by participating in numerous exhibitions and promotional events both inside Spain and elsewhere.

Designs by Apparatu have been exhibited at contemporary design fairs and festivals in London, Frankfurt, Saint- Étienne, Tokyo, New York, México and Stockholm, as well as in Madrid and Barcelona.

mini-2 mini-1
What fundamentally distinguishes Mañosa as a modern-day ceramicist is his boldness when it comes to combining different materials and to exploring new forms of expression.
Nedgis uses cookies to offer you the best service. By continuing browsing, you agree that we use them.

/ Les designers / Xavier Manosa
head

Xavier Manosa

Naissance
1981
Nationalité
Espagnol
Profession
Céramiste

Xavier Mañosa a fondé son studio Apparatu il y a seulement cinq ans... en ce court laps de temps, il est devenu l'un des céramistes les plus en vue de sa génération. Quand il a pris cette décision, il vivait à Berlin. Peut-être que la distance l'a aidé à se consacrer enfin à ce qu'il avait vu ses parents faire pendant son enfance et qu'il avait rejeté, comme un acte de défiance, au cours de sa formation de designer industriel. En tous les cas, ce qui en a résulté est définitivement la combinaison des deux : une capacité à prendre de la distance et un empressement à expérimenter liés à la connaissance de son métier.

Jusqu'en 2009, Mañosa avait sa base créative à Berlin. Il en parti pour retourner à l'atelier familial, situé dans une ancienne zone industrielle de Barcelone, où les produits en céramique pour l'industrie du bâtiment étaient anciennement produits. Aujourd'hui, cet endroit est devenu un lieu emblématique pour les antiquités, ce qui lui donne une atmosphère plus inspirante.

Ce qui fait fondamentalement de Mañosa un céramiste moderne, c'est son audace quand il s'agit de combiner différents matériaux et d'explorer de nouvelles formes d'expression. Une autre question à laquelle Xavier Mañosa a toujours accordé une grande importance dès le début, est la manière dont son travail est présenté...

Des créations de Apparatu ont été exposées dans les salons et festivals de design contemporain à Londres, Francfort, Saint-Étienne, Tokyo, New York, Mexico, Stockholm, Madrid et Barcelone.

mini-2 mini-1
Ce qui fait fondamentalement de Mañosa un céramiste moderne, c'est son audace quand il s'agit de combiner différents matériaux et d'explorer de nouvelles formes d'expression.
Nedgis utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l’utilisation.