1. Home
  2. / Designers
  3. / Alessandro Mendini
head

Alessandro Mendini

Nationality
Italian
Occupation
Designer, architect

The designer Alessandro Mendini born August 16, 1931 in Milan. Always fascinated by design, he studied architecture at the Polytechnic University of Milan until 1959.


Alessandro Mendini is considered a sacred monster of Italian design. In 1973, he co-founded the Global Tools School of Design, and at the end of the 1970s he worked at Studio Achimia with many Italian designers such as Andrea Branzi, Michele De Lucchi and Ettore Sottsass. This studio advocates a global vision of the arts and invites you to juggle all eras and disciplines. In 1978 he began his redesign work.


For Alessandro Mendini, beauty is neither conventional nor aesthetic but emotional. Indeed, in his creations, the designer uses facetiously spectacular effects of colors. He loves shimmer, silver and walleye.


The objects created by Alessandro Mendini are known to be real characters in the theatrical and playful universe like the corkscrew "Anna G". Thanks to his magnificent creations, Alessandro Mendini becomes an icon in the world of design and decoration. His objects have been rewarded many times.

mini-2 mini-1
"Beauty is neither conventional nor aesthetic but emotional."
Nedgis uses cookies to offer you the best service. By continuing browsing, you agree that we use them.

/ Les designers / Alessandro Mendini
head

Alessandro Mendini

Nationalité
Italien
Profession
Designer, architecte

Le designer Alessandro Mendini né le 16 août 1931 à Milan. Passionné depuis toujours par le design, il fait ses études d’architecture à l’École polytechnique de Milan jusqu’en 1959.


Alessandro Mendini est considéré comme un monstre sacré du design italien. En effet, en 1973, il cofonde l’école de design Global Tools et à la fin des années 70, il collabore au Studio Achimia avec de nombreux designers italiens comme Andrea Branzi, Michele De Lucchi ou Ettore Sottsass. Ce studio prône une vision globale des arts et invite à jongler avec toutes les époques et toutes les disciplines. C’est en 1978 qu’il commence ses travaux de redesign.


Pour Alessandro Mendini, la beauté n’est ni conventionnelle ni esthétique mais émotionnelle. En effet, dans ses créations, le designer utilise de façon facétieuse les effets spectaculaires des couleurs. Il adore les miroitements, l’argenté et le doré.


Les objets créés par Alessandro Mendini sont connus pour être de véritables personnages de l’univers théâtral et ludique comme le tire-bouchon « Anna G ». Grâce à ses magnifiques créations, Alessandro Mendini devient une icône dans le monde du design et de la décoration. Ses objets ont de nombreuses fois été récompensés.

mini-2 mini-1
"La beauté n’est ni conventionnelle ni esthétique mais émotionnelle."
Nedgis utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l’utilisation.