1. Home
  2. / Designers
  3. / Neil Poulton
head

Neil Poulton

Birthdate
1963
Nationality
Scottish
Occupation
Designer

Neil Poulton is a Scottish designer, born in 1963 and settled in Paris, city lights since 1991.
The designer is clearly recognized for his creations in the fields of high-tech lighting.

Neil Poulton first obtained a Bachelor of Science in Industrial Design from Napier University in Edinburgh in 1985. He then obtained the Masters in Design from Domus Academy (en) in Milan in 1988, under the direction of Italian architect Andrea Branzi and industrial designer Alberto Meda.

He had the chance to work alongside the renowned Italian architect Ettore Sottsass, the German industrial designer Richard Sapper, or Isao Hosoe and Anna Castelli Ferrieri.

Neil Poulton distinguished himself for the first time in 1989 with the creation of "Ageing Pens", the "aging pens". Also known as "Penna Mutante" (pen mutant), these pens were made from a "living" plastic whose colored layers erode as and when they are used and change the shape of the 'object. His "aging pens" are then exhibited at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London, at the Georges Pompidou National Center for Art and Culture in Paris and at the Axis Gallery in Tokyo.

 It is often associated with manufacturers such as LaCie, Artemide, Megalit, Atelier Sedap and Danese Milano. He also counts Christofle, Forestier, Vertigo Bird (in) or the Glenmorangie Company among its collaborators.
In 2007, the museum of the Georges Pompidou National Center for Art and Culture in Paris acquires six objects designed by Poulton in its permanent collection.

In 2008, Time included it in "The Design 100" - the 100 most influential people and ideas of current design.

Neil Poulton has won numerous international awards including seven Stars from the Observeur du Design, ten Red Dot Design Awards including two Best of the Best, three Janus Awards from Industry, two recommendations for the Compasso Italian Award. Oro and four IF International Forum Design Awards.

Poulton has been a speaker and visiting professor in several schools such as the Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design in London, the Domus Academy in Milan and the University of Western Australia in Perth. On occasion, he is a member of the jury of the National School of Industrial Design (ENSCI - the workshops) in Paris.

mini-2 mini-1
In 2008, Time included it in "The Design 100" - the 100 most influential people and ideas of current design.

/ Les designers / Neil Poulton
head

Neil Poulton

Naissance
1963
Nationalité
Écossais
Profession
Designer

Neil Poulton est un designer écossais, né en 1963 et qui s'est installé à Paris, ville lumières depuis 1991.
Le designer est clairement reconnu pour ses créations dans les domaines de l’éclairage de haute technologie.

Neil Poulton a tout d'abord obtenu un Bachelor of Science en design industriel à l’université de Napier à Édimbourg en 1985. Puis il obtient le Masters en Design de la Domus Academy (en) de Milan, en 1988, sous la direction le l’architecte italien Andrea Branzi et du designer industriel designer Alberto Meda.

Il a eu la chance de côtoyer comme professeurs l'architecte italien et très renommé Ettore Sottsass, le designer industriel allemand Richard Sapper, ou encore, Isao Hosoe et Anna Castelli Ferrieri.

Neil Poulton se distingue pour la première fois en 1989 avec la création des « Ageing Pens », les « stylos vieillissants ». Également connu sous le nom de « Penna Mutante » (stylo mutant), ces stylos ont été réalisés à partir d'un plastique « vivant » dont les couches colorées s’érodent au fur et à mesure de leur utilisation et modifient la forme de l’objet. Ses « ageing pens » sont alors exposés au Victoria and Albert Museum de Londres, au Centre national d'art et de culture Georges-Pompidou à Paris et à l’Axis Gallery de Tokyo.

Il est souvent associé à des fabricants tels que LaCie, Artemide, Megalit, Atelier Sedap et Danese Milano. Il compte également Christofle, Forestier, Vertigo Bird (en) ou encore la Glenmorangie Company parmi ses collaborateurs.
En 2007, le musée du Centre national d'art et de culture Georges-Pompidou de Paris acquiert six objets conçus par Poulton dans sa collection permanente.

En 2008, le Time l'inclut dans "The Design 100" - les 100 personnes et idées les plus influentes du design actuel.

Neil Poulton a obtenu de nombreux prix internationaux dont sept Étoiles de l'Observeur du design, dix Red Dot Design Awards (en) dont deux Best of the Best, trois prix Janus de l’Industrie, deux recommandations pour le prix italien Compasso d'Oro et quatre prix IF International Forum Design.

Poulton a été orateur et professeur invité dans plusieurs écoles comme le Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design à Londres, la Domus Academy (en) à Milan et la University of Western Australia à Perth. À l’occasion, il est membre du jury de l’École nationale supérieure de création industrielle (ENSCI - les ateliers) à Paris.

mini-2 mini-1
"En 2008, le Time l'inclut dans "The Design 100" - les 100 personnes et idées les plus influentes du design actuel."
Nedgis utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service possible. En continuant votre navigation, vous en acceptez l’utilisation.